David-Gorodok is the 2nd largest town of the Stolin district by population in the Brest region. Population of the town is about 7,200 people. David-Gorodok is a small and rather intimate town that stretches along a scenic landscape of Polesie forests on the banks of the river Gorin. Visiting the city that harbours many ancient secrets will be especially interesting to lovers of history. In the nearby city of Stolin there is a railway station known as Gorin through which the route from Lviv – Sarny – Luninets – Baranovichi -Vilnius goes through. There are three important railway stations which are Gorin, Vidibor and Pripyat.
David-Gorodok has a very ancient history. Almost every encyclopedia will state David-Gorodok was founded at the beginning of the 12th century, however fragments of pottery of the local settlement found during excavations in 1937 which preserved relief pattern (cross in a circle) suggests David-Gorodok existed even before that time as this characteristic mark of a cross in a circle decorated pottery is of the 11th century. The remains of residential and commercial buildings, street pavements and yard decks, as well as unique burials were also found during the excavations. The findings suggest the development of crafts and trade relations with the Northern Black Sea and the Baltic.
There is no exact version of when and by whom the city was founded. Some argue that the grandson of Yaroslav Mudriy, David Igorevich, was the one who founded the town whereas others consider famous general David Gorodzenski to be the founder. It is known that in the 14th century David-Gorodok was part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and in 1532 came into the possession of Queen Bona Sforza. Soon however, King Zigizmund II Augustus who was in love with Barbara Radziwill gave the town to the brother of his bride – Nikolay Radziwill Cherniy. David-Gorodok is famous for its artisans such as blacksmiths, carpenters, masons, craftsmen and shipbuilders.
Since the beginning of the Great Patriotic War from July 7th 1941, David-Gorodok was occupied by German fascist invaders and liberated on July 9th 1944 during Belorussian strategic offensive operation.
|Area (sq.km)||12.39 km²|
|Phone code||+375 1655|
Numerous tourist attractions worthy of attention can be found in David-Gorodok. St. George church in David-Gorodok built in the 17th century is a unique monument of wooden architecture of Belarusian Polesie. The four-tiered iconostasis of the church is the most unique and valuable piece. This sample of folk art was created in the middle of the 18th century by local craftsmen.
Amongst other sacral objects is the Church of the Kazan, Icon of the Mother of God built in 1913. On the outskirts of the town one may find an ancient settlement and the surviving fragments of former military fortifications such as trenches and shafts. Today there is a memorial sign located on that spot thus it is easily recognizable.
The unusual headquarters building of the Polish border battalion in David-Gorodok will intrigue fans of military history. The Polish military was stationed in the town that was once part of Poland during 1921-1939.The local old-timers claim that this particular building was actually the barracks rather than headquarters.
Monument in honour of the town founder, David Gorodensky, is located on the central square.
Big folk festival ‘Koniki’ is celebrated annually on January 13th -14th in the David-Gorodok.
There are two hotels and a wellness center called ‘Svitanok’ in David-Gorodok in terms of accommodation.
Modern David-Gorodok has 3 production plants , an Electrical Machinery Plant, a bakery and tool production .The Industrial site of farm ‘40 let Oktyabrya’ is active and there is also the mechanical department of district production association ‘Selkhozkhimiya’ and state forest enterprise ‘Poleskiy voenniy leshoz’.
Cultural and educational work is carried out in City House of Culture, there is also a cinema called ‘Rassvet’ and two libraries. Residents of the city service 13 stores, 3 brand stores and a network of commercial shopping, dining and cafes.
Copyright © 2012 - 2022 | The Minsk Herald